History of Balaguier d'Olt - commune in Aveyron

Origin of the word BALAGUIER


There are several versions on the origin of the name of Balaguier
The first, the name of Balaguier would have a prelatine (Gallic) origin: "balec", the broom. He gave in French: broom. This utensil was once made with branches of broom. In ancient Occitan we used the word "Balac". It has been supplanted by the word "gineste" of Latin origin. The root is complemented by the collective suffix "ier", ère ".This structure is highlighted by the ancient transcriptions in Latin: Balagerium (1301), Balaguiéro (1390) .Balaguier comes from" balaguiére ", place colonized by the broom .

The second, according to the "general toponymy of France" Ernest Negre, the name of Balaguier is part of a context of "fortification" and originated in the name balaguarium, consisting of a suffix novel "arium" preceded by a Gallic radical "balacon" (advance of roof) or Welsh "balog" (crenel). Which could have meant "crenellated wall".

Third hypothesis, the carton of Conques (XI ° century), speaks of a fortified village called Blacaria and that several authors identify with our current Balaguier.

Fourth hypothesis, but the most fanciful, Balaguier would derive its name from "vallis aquarum valley of the waters because of the three abundant springs of water that spring: 1 °) to the mill of Lève, 2 °) in the vicinity of the cave called" Roquevinière , "Vallis aquarum", full of water, would have given: val = bal and aqua would have Given the succession of acute and aguier, whence the word Balaguier, which is without foundation, is absolutely false, for the simple reason that Balaguier, according to the archives of Figeac and elsewhere, was already writing with a B At a time when the local patois had not yet transformed the V into B.

balaguier-d-olt-1

If the origin of the name of Balaguier is unknown, the citadel of Balaguier is already reported from the 8th century, during the invasion of Aquitaine by the Arabs. An archive of Conques written to 1020, mention the capture of Balaguier for the Arabs:
"In 725 a troop of Saracens led by Ambiza, had fortified themselves in a certain castle of Balaguier, from which they plundered the holy places and vexed ecclesiastics, and other honest people"
L. Saint-Marty in "The popular history of Quercy" "In the words of some authors," he said, "the Arabs would have fortified themselves at Balaguier, on the limit of Rouergue, and of Quercy, from whence they would have ravaged the environs with impunity" . These people were not very agreeable; The country had much to suffer; Fanatized by their religion, they attacked all that was Christian, the monasteries of Souillac, Coronzac, and Moissac were destroyed; At Cahors, they succeeded in forcing the ramparts; Finally "arrested at Poitiers in 24 for the troops of Charles Martel, they slowly retreated leaving behind the country covered with ruins.

card-old balaguier

BALAGUIER's family
The family of Balaguier is one of the oldest of the Rouergue and the Quercy. Some claim that it originated from the princes of Catalonia and Majorca, there is also a hamlet called Balaguier in the Aude.
"This important family, which is sometimes confused with that of Cardaillac, claimed to have something more than the others.In fact, in 1300, Bertrand de Balaguier calls himself the coseor of Cajarc and Capdenac and confirms orders made by the consuls, and we do not see that protests "Galhard Bourcier, bayle of Cajarc for the redoptador pay in christ monsenhor Sicart de Montaigu, avesque of Cahors." Coseigneur, he had the right to take this title, because he had property in the peninsula of Andressac. "As viguier had the right to confirm the consular orders, no doubt, since the bayle attends this act, as well as other viguiers." (Edmond Albe)

image 2017-06-06-a-162329 image 2017-06-06-a-162439

In 1232, the Lords of Balaguier had two chapels built at the convent of the Cordeliers at Villefranche; Their arms appeared, according to Claude de Bruyere, to the vaults of these two chapels.
The arms of the family of Balaguier: of gold with three fasces Gules, figure in The third square room of the museum of Versailles where four rooms are reserved for the crusades. Guillaume de Balaguier, seigneur of Montsalès, participated in the first crusade of Saint Louis (I248-I254) seventh of the general series. His participation in the crusade was known by the discovery towards 1840, in an antique Parisian of titles Borrowed by the crusaders of Philip Augustus and St. Louis, to rich merchants of Pisa and Genoa. These securities would come from the archives of the Société de Saint-Georges, a bank where traders deposited their debt notes. During the occupation of Liguria in 1796-97, by the revolutionary armies commanded by Bona-parte, the archives of the Society of St. George were plundered and covered with dust in some re-corner of a shop in Paris.

At the time of the Crusades, when the Popes appealed to Christendom to take from the Muslims the tomb of Christ, one of the members of Balaguier's noble family "crossed" to go and deliver the holy places.
We thus have many debt securities, similar to that subscribed by Guillaume de Balaguier. Following one of these titles dated June 1250 and signed in due form, where five French gentlemen, to go to the crusade, make a loan of 150 books tournaments guaranteed by their property mortgages, one can read the following act: "to the same praetors, Dominique de Telia and Marco Ciconia, of Genoa, also in June 1250, under the guarantee of Count Alphonse and under the seal of the first named: Hugues de Riergues, Raymond of Séve-rac, Guillaume of Balaguier, Motel of Lapanouse and Bernard de Lévezou, all Rouergats, except Hugues de Riergues and qualified of damoiseaux, make on another document recognition of a loan of 300 books.
Thus, thanks to this document, we know that Guillaume de Balaguier, a gentleman, a gentleman, who was not yet a knight, participated in the first Saint Louis Crusade.

image 2017-06-06-a-163101

EN 1303; Bertrand de Balaguier sent ten men to King Philip the Fair for the war in Flanders. But from this period it seems that the family of Balaguier definitely leaves his country of origin; In fact the notarial acts of Figeac do not mention any Balaguier who claims to be Lord of Balaguier. This family had swarmed in the neighborhood and had allied itself with other powerful families: the lords of Cajarc and Capde-nac; Towards I300, this family takes the name of Cardaillac and it is to it that belonged the Cardaillac, lords of Brengues and Montbrun whose lands stretched on Saujac and on various fiefs in Rouergue. In the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries the classical Balaguiers are lords of Montsalès and Salvagnac-Cajarc ...
Although it had many branches, it is almost certain that the family of Balaguier is a native of the village which bears his name, and which everyone agrees has lost all trace of its past grandeur. In fact, it held in the Rouergue one of the first ranks by its services, the possession of a large number of seigniorial and titled lands, and its alliances with the oldest races of the country.
De Barreau in his book entitled "Historical and genealogical documents of the Rouergue" gives the certainty. The family of Balaguier very flourishing in the XII ° century extinguished in the XVI ° century and its vast estates passed by the women in those of the dukes of Uzès (Gard).

image 2017-06-06-a-163216

THE WAR OF 100 YEARS

There are some definite documents on Balaguier during the interminable war of XIX-X years, when England tried in vain to settle on the continent and to enlarge her possessions in France, and where her king endeavored to become King of France . Several times our city had to undergo the occupation of the English, that of kind of maquisards called "Routier".
In 1360, France signs the Treaty of Brétigny with Edward III who acquires a quarter of the kingdom and the extended 17 current departments; Quercy and Rouergue become English lands, but the hearts remain French; the English troops then had to reckon with the hostility of the French populations united in spite of themselves in their domain. Did not the English soldiers say ironically when talking about our ancestors: "who would have opened them and a larded pig, we would have in their heart, the fleur de lys found" ...
Balaguier was a center of resistance; at that time his castle belonged to the Marquis de Cardaillac, lord of Brengues, baron of Foissac, lord of Larroque-Toirac, Montbrun and Balaguier; he was one of the lords who distinguished himself most against the English. All the means of disturbing the occupation troops were good; the inhabitants of Balaguier stopped the boats which came down from the Lot, and exerted a tax, no doubt rather onerous, since in 1362, Sieur de Pomiers, seneschal in Quercy on behalf of the Prince of Wales, defended the inhabitants of Balaguier to stop the boats that were carrying food to Cahors and to demand the toll. "
In 1369, King Charles V, after having well taken over the kingdom and restored the finances, wanted to supersede the treaty of Bretigny, which had painfully amputated his kingdom, and resumed the struggle against Edward III. Patriotism was still alive. In our region "the inhabitants of Villeneuve played a large part in the war against the English with those of Villefranche, they united a large body of gendarmerie who submerged the boats of the English in the Lot and stopped their races in Rouergue. Of the Lot lent itself to beautiful nautical combats.Balaguier was taken several times, in 1375, on the 1 ° day of November, the feast of All Saints' Day, the English took the place of Balaguier in Quercy, and after looting it left ". (E. Cabrol Annales de Villefranche, TIP 128) ...
The English of Balaguier came to Cajarc on the Friday before the Feast God 1376, to carry a challenge "vengro per combatre"; the prud'hommes and Jean d'Hébrard who were there, gave them 60 loaves and 4 barrels of wine. We do not give the result of the battle, but there was a battle "Item lo dia quens (that we) combatero los Angles de Balaguier". This facilitated truces with this band, whose leader was Bernard Doat
They returned to Balaguier, for two years later, in 1377, they negotiated with Bernard Doat, captain who occupied Balaguier under the orders of Bertrecat d'Albret; And the city was bought for gold, at the same time as Belcastel and other places; The act reports that the redemption was paid by the most privileged taxpayers.
Of fear, no doubt, that this place would not again become an English hideaway, the castle, of which there is not one stone left, was demolished at once by order of King Charles V, after it had been taken over from the English Who had become masters of it.

Read more about The history of Balaguier d'Olt in direct consultation or by downloading the file

Histoire de Balaguier d'Olt - commune en Aveyron

Origine du mot BALAGUIER


Il existe plusieurs versions sur l'origine du nom de Balaguier
La première, le nom de Balaguier aurait une origine prélatine (gauloise): "balec", le genêt. Il a donné en français : balai. Cet ustensile était jadis fabriqué avec des branches de genêt. En occitan ancien on utilisait le mot "Balac". Il a été supplanté par le mot "gineste" d'origine latine. La racine est complétée par le suffixe collectif "ier", iére". Cette structure est mise en évidence par les anciennes transcriptions en latin : Balagerium (1301), Balaguiéro (1390). Balaguier viendrait de "balaguiére", lieu colonisé par les genets.

La seconde, d'après la "toponymie générale de la France" d'Ernest Nègre, le nom de Balaguier s'inscrit dans un contexte de "fortification" et aurait pour origine le nom balaguarium, composé d'un suffixe roman "arium" précédé d'un radical gaulois "balacon" (avancée de toit) ou du Gallois "balog"(créneau). Ce qui aurait pu signifier "mur crénelé".

Troisième hypothèse, le cartulaire de Conques (XI° siècle), parle d'un village fortifié appelé Blacaria et que plu-sieurs auteurs identifient avec notre Balaguier actuel.

Quatrième hypothèse, mais la plus fantaisiste, Balaguier tirerait son nom de "vallis aquarum vallée des eaux à cause des trois sources abondantes d'eau qui jaillissent : 1°) au moulin de Lève, 2°) aux environs de la grotte dite "Roquevinière", 3°) derrière l'église à la fontaine dite de St. Martin. C'est une astuce facile que cette solution. En effet "vallis aquarum", val plein d'eau, aurait donné : val=bal et aqua aurait donné successivement aigue et aguier, d'où le mot Balaguier. Ce raisonnement est sans fondement; il est même absolument faux ; pour la simple raison que Balaguier, d'après les archives de Figeac et d'ailleurs s'écrivait déjà avec un B à une époque où le patois local n'avait pas encore transformé le V en B.

balaguier-d-olt-1

Si l'origine du nom de Balaguier est inconnue, la citadelle de Balaguier est déjà signalée dès le VIII° siècle, lors de l'invasion de l'Aquitaine par les Arabes. Des archives de Conques écrites vers 1020, mentionnent la prise de Balaguier per les Arabes :
"en 725 une troupe de sarrasins conduite par Ambiza, s'était fortifiée dans un certain château de Balaguier, d'où ils pillaient les saints lieux et vexaient les ecclésiastiques, les et autres honnêtes gens"
L. Saint-Marty dans "L'histoire populaire du Quercy" mentionne le même événement : P. 24-25." D'après quelques auteurs, dit-il, les arabes se seraient fortifiés A Balaguier, sur la limite du Rouergue, et du Quercy, d'où ils auraient impunément ravagé les environs ". Ces gens-là furent peu agréables; le pays eut beaucoup à en souffrir ; fanatisés per leur religion, ils s'attaquaient à tout ce qui était chrétien, les monastères de Souillac, de Coronzac, de Moissac furent détruits ; à Cahors, ils réussirent A forcer les remparts ; enfin "arrêtés à Poitiers en 732 per les troupes de Charles Martel, ils se retirèrent lentement laissant derrière eux le pays couvert de ruines ".

carte-ancienne-balaguier

Famille de BALAGUIER
La famille de Balaguier est une des plus anciennes du Rouergue et du Quercy. Certains prétendent qu’elle tirait son origine des princes de Catalogne et de Majorque, il existe d’ailleurs un hameau nommé Balaguier dans l'Aude.
"Cette famille importante, qui se confond parfois avec celle de Cardaillac, prétendit avoir quelque chose de plus que les autres. En effet, en 1300, Bertrand de Balaguier se dit coseigneur de Cajarc et de Capdenac et confirme des ordonnances portées par les consuls, et l'on ne voit pas que proteste «Galhard Bourcier, bayle de Cajarc pour le redoptador payre en christ monsenhor Sicart de Montaigu, avesque de Cahors». Coseigneur, il avait bien le droit de prendre ce titre, parce qu'il avait des biens dans la presqu'île d'Andressac. Comme viguier avait-il le droit de confirmer les ordonnances consulaires ? Sans doute, puisque le bayle assiste à cet acte, ainsi d'ailleurs que d'autres viguiers." (Edmond Albe)

image-2017-06-06-a-162329   image-2017-06-06-a-162439

En 1232, les Seigneurs de Balaguier firent bâtir deux chapelles au couvent des Cordeliers à Villefranche ; leur: armes figuraient, d'après Claude de Bruyère, aux voutes de ces deux chapelles.
Les Armes de la famille de Balaguier : d'or à trois fasces de gueules, figurent dans Le troisième salle carrée du mu-sée de Versailles où quatre salles sont réservées aux croisades. Guillaume de Balaguier, seigneur de Montsalès a en effet participé à la première croisade de Saint Louis (I248-I254) septième de la série générale .Sa participation à la croisade a été connue par la découverte vers 1840, chez un antiquaire parisien, de titres d'emprunt contrac-tés par les croisés de Philippe-Auguste et de Saint Louis, à de riches marchands de Pise et de Gènes. Ces titres proviendraient des archives de la Société de Saint-Georges, banque où les négociants déposaient leurs billets de créance. Lors de l'occupation de la Ligurie en 1796-97, par les armées révolutionnaires commandées par Bona-parte, les archives de la société Saint Georges furent pillées et allèrent se couvrir de poussière dans quelque re-coin d’une boutique de Paris.

A l'époque des croisades, quand les Papes firent appel à la chrétienté pour reprendre aux musulmans le tombeau du Christ, un des membres de la noble famille de Balaguier "se croise" pour aller délivrer les lieux saints.
On possède ainsi de nombreux titres de créances, semblables à celui souscrit par Guillaume de Balaguier. A la suite d'un de ces titres daté de juin 1250 et signé en bonne et due forme, où cinq gentilshommes français, pour partir à la croisade, font un emprunt de 150 livres tournois garanties par leurs biens mis en hypothèques, on peut lire l'acte suivant :"aux mêmes préteurs, Dominique de Telia et Marco Ciconia, de Gènes, également en juin 1250, sous la garantie du comte Alphonse et sous le sceau du premier nommé : Hugues de Riergues, Raymond de Séve-rac, Guillaume de Balaguier, Motel de Lapanouse et Bernard de Lévezou, tous Rouergats, sauf Hugues de Riergues et qualifiés de damoiseaux, font sur un autre document reconnaissance d'un prêt de 300 livres.
Ainsi, grâce à ce document, nous savons que Guillaume de Balaguier, damoiseau, c'est-à-dire gentilhomme, qui n'était pas encore chevalier, a participé à la première croisade de Saint Louis.

image-2017-06-06-a-163101

EN 1303 ; Bertrand de Balaguier envoya dix hommes an service du roi Philipe le Bel pour la guerre des Flandres. Mais à partir de cette époque, il semble bien que la famille de Balaguier quitte définitivement son pays d'origine ; en effet les actes notariés de Figeac ne mentionnent aucun Balaguier se disant seigneur de Balaguier. Cette famille avait essaimé dans les environs et s'était alliée à d'autre puissantes familles : les seigneurs de Cajarc et de Capde-nac ; vers I300, cette famille prend le nom de Cardaillac et c'est à elle qu'appartenaient les Cardaillac, seigneurs de Brengues et de Montbrun dont les terres s'étendaient sur Saujac et sur divers fiefs en Rouergue. Aux XIV° et XV° siècles les Balaguier classiques sont seigneurs de Montsalès et de Salvagnac-Cajarc…
Bien qu'elle eut eu de très nombreuses branches, il est à peu près certain que la famille de Balaguier est originaire du village qui porte son nom, et qui, tout le monde en convient, a perdu toute trace de sa grandeur passée., en effet elle a tenue dans le Rouergue un des premier rang par ses services, la possession d’un grand nombre de terres seigneuriales et titrées, et ses alliances avec les plus anciennes races du pays.
De Barreau dans son livre intitulé "documents historiques et généalogique du Rouergue" en donne la certitude. La famille de Balaguier très florissante au XII° siècle s'éteignit au XVI° siècle et ses vastes domaines passèrent par les femmes dans celles des ducs d'Uzès (Gard).

image-2017-06-06-a-163216

LA GUERRE DE 100 ANS

Il existe quelques documents certains sur Balaguier au temps de cette interminable guerre de 100 ans où l’Angleterre essaya en vain de s'implanter sur le continent et d'agrandir ses possessions on France et où son roi s'efforça de devenir roi de France. Plusieurs fois notre cité eut à subir l'occupation des Anglais, celle de genre de maquisards appelés "Routier ".
En 1360, la France signe le traité de Brétigny avec Edouard III qui acquiert le quart du royaume et l'étendus de 17 départements actuels ; le Quercy et le Rouergue deviennent terres anglaises, mais les coeurs restent français ; les troupes anglaises eurent alors à compter avec l'hostilité des populations françaises réunies malgré elles é leur domaine. Les soldats anglais ne disaient-ils pas ironiquement en parlant de nos ancêtres : "qui les aurait ouverts ainsi qu'un porc lardé, on aurait en leur coeur, la fleur de lys trouvée"...
Balaguier fut un centre de résistance; à cette époque son château appartenait eu marquis de Cardaillac, seigneur de Brengues, baron de Foissac, seigneur de Larroque-Toirac, Montbrun et Balaguier ; il fut un des seigneurs qui se distingua le plus contre les Anglais. Tous les moyens de gêner les troupes d'occupa-tion furent bons; les habitants de Balaguier arrêtaient les bateaux qui descendaient Le Lot et en exi-geaient un impôt, sans doute assez onéreux, puisqu'en "1362, sieur de Pomiers, sénéchal en Quercy pour le compte du Prince de Galles, défendit aux habitants de Balaguier d'arrêter les bateaux qui por-taient des vivres à Cahors et d'en exiger le péage".
En 1369, le roi Charles V, après avoir bien repris en main le royaume et redressé les finances voulut sup-primer le traité de Brétigny qui avait douloureusement amputé son royaume, et reprit la lutte contre Edouard III. Le patriotisme était toujours vivant. Dans notre région "les habitants de Villeneuve firent une grands part à la guerre contre les anglais avec ceux de Villefranche, ils réunirent un corps nombreux de gendarmerie qui submergea dans le Lot les bateaux des Anglais et arrêta leurs courses en Rouergue. Aussi notre riante vallée du Lot se prêtait à de beaux combats nautiques. Balaguier fut pris à plusieurs reprises ; en 1375, le 1° jour de novembre, fête de la Toussaint, les anglais prirent le lieu de Balaguier en Quercy, et après l'avoir pillé le quittèrent ". (E. Cabrol Annales de Villefranche, T.I.P. 128)…
Les Anglais de Balaguier vinrent à Cajarc le vendredi avant la Fête Dieu 1376, porter un défi «vengro per combatre» ; les prud'hommes et Jean d'Hébrard qui se trouvaient là, leur font donner 60 pains et 4 barils de vin. On ne donne pas le résultat de la bataille, mais il y eut bataille «Item lo dia quens (que nous) combatero los Angles de Balaguier». Cela facilita des trêves avec cette bande, dont le chef était Bernard Doat
Ils revinrent à Balaguier, car deux ans après, en 1377, on négocia avec Bernard Doat, capitaine qui occu-pait Balaguier sous les ordres de Bertrecat d'Albret; et la ville fut rachetée à prix d'or, en même temps que Belcastel et autres lieux ; l'acte rapporte que le rachat fut payé par les contribuables les plus privilé-giés.
De peur sans doute que ce lieu ne devint à nouveau un repaire d'Anglais, le château, dont il ne reste pas pierre sur pierre, fut démoli aussitôt per ordre du roi Charles V, après qu'on l'eut repris sur les Anglais qui s'en étaient rendus maitres.

Lire la suite de L'histoire de Balaguier d'Olt en consultation directe ou en téléchargeant le fichier